Required for the Ride: Gloves

This morning, I woke up, got dressed, and geared up. It wasn’t until I was sitting on the bike that I realized I’d forgotten my gloves. Frustrated, I headed back in the house to search for them. After 10 minutes of looking and still not being able to find any of my gloves (I have 3 pair) I decided that my back-up pair must be in my saddle bags (since they weren’t in my travel backpack.) They were not. Annoyed and already late for work I decided I would ride without them and buy a new pair on the way home. (My old mechanix are almost worn through.)

I have never ridden with out gloves on, at least not more than a mile or two and I did not like it. I’ve never felt so naked while riding. Feeling the open air on my hands, the rubber on the grips, and the hard steel of the clutch and brake under my hands was foreign and surprisingly unpleasant.

Mostly I always wear gloves for safety, when falling, people tend to try to catch themselves, so gloves have always been a requirement. As it turns out it’s not just that I need them but prefer them as well.

Guess I’ll definitely be stopping to buy gloves ASAP… Luckily a nearby shop is having a bike night!! (maybe I’ll get another pair of actual riding gloves! ;-D )

One thought on “Required for the Ride: Gloves

  1. Great post and good gloves! It’s the small things that car drivers would never even consider! I found myself in the same position but found I love riding without gloves, I put the thought of falling to the back of my mind. I love the feel of the rain on my hands and the constant change in temperature. I only wear my gloves when its cold. But, be warned! As a result of my glove free riding, I have the weathered hands of a 90 year old washer-woman!

    Like

Leave a Reply

