Ridin’ in Style

So I bought a new helmet recently. A Biltwell Bonanza in the silver MegaFlake, which is a retro style open face, with a large flake silver glitter paint job. I still have the Speed and Strength Full Face I bought earlier this summer, but I’ve been wanting an open face or halfie. I was at Redwood Custom’s bike night, and the entire store was 40% off. So it seemed like the perfect time to get a new helmet.

I’ve had the helmet for less than a week and I love it. When I ride with that helmet on, I feel more in control, more in tune with my bike, I take turns tighter, and feel more confident when maneuvering. Not sure if it’s the wind in my face or what, but I love it. It makes it really hard to not smile, which creates a problem when there is crap flying in my face. Haha

The other thing I love about it is seeing the reactions, and knowing that it’s pretty hard to ignore. I love the idea of someone seeing me riding down the road and smiling. I love the idea of bringing a little bit of happiness to someone; of reminding them not to take life too seriously. I also secretly hope that I inspire some people to get out and what they love. That I’m out there doing what I love, living in the moment and they should too. That might seem silly or incredibly narcissistic, but I love it.

Here’s a pic I snapped this AM when I arrived at work:

Leave a Reply

