My Best Self

Every time I get on my motorcycle could be my last. Hell, everyday on this Earth could be my last. People ask me why I do it, and sometimes honestly, I wonder myself. I’ll be on a trip when it’s raining or cold, and I’ll think, “Why do I even like doing this? Do I even like riding? What’s the point?” But really all the answers are right in front of me. 

My motorcycle has, pardon the expression, added life to my days. It has given me confidence, and taught me about who I am. It has helped me to find people that I admire, people that I look up to, people just like me. Motorcycling has shown me who I really am and at the end of the day has caused me to love myself, to “fall in love” with me. I have found my strength, and learned a lot about who I am. It has made me stronger, made me happier and it has made me happy with my life and all my life choices. There have been many, many years that have gone by when I have been depressed and questioned what I was doing with my life, why I took this job, why did I do this or that. I don’t do that so much anymore, and as dumb as it sounds it’s because of my motorcycle. It’s shown me who I really am, what I’m made of, my mettle, my strength.

So if I were to die tomorrow, of course it would be sad. But if I die on my motorcycle (or not), you can know that it’s OK, that not only did I die doing something I loved, but without it, my last few years wouldn’t have been what they were, they wouldn’t have been as full of life, happiness, and excitement. I wouldn’t have been as happy. So even if it’s what kills me, know that was worth it. Know that without this crazy, risky, awfully dangerous thing, that I do, I wouldn’t know who I am. I wouldn’t know how strong I can be. I wouldn’t have fully realized my true self. I’m not saying that a motorcycle is part of my true self and who I am, but it is and was a tool, that helps me everyday to realize what I’m made of, where I can and what I can do and it’s amazing.  

2 thoughts on “My Best Self

  1. Your words are spoken with pure sincerity and truth. I feel the passion of two wheels through the screen. Keep on the cycle and never get off. Its so cool to hear the passion. Ride it like you stole it…………………..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

